Hall of Fame

2022 Recipients

Kyra Gaunt (PhD ’97, musicology)

Portrait of Kyra Gaunt taken in Monterey, California, August 2021

Kyra D. Gaunt is a digital ethnomusicologist and is on faculty at the University at Albany, SUNY in the Music and Theatre, Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies, and affiliate faculty in Sociology. 

Supported by a fellowship from the National Endowment for the Humanities and a senior postdoctoral fellowship from the Ford Foundation, The Games Black Girls Play: Learning the Ropes from Double-Dutch to Hip-Hop won the 2007 Alan Merriam Book Prize for most outstanding English-speaking monograph awarded by the Society for Ethnomusicology. By the late aughts, the book contributed to the emergence of black girlhood studies and hip-hop music and feminist studies inspiring the staging of BLACK GIRL: Linguistic Play by choreographer/director Camille A. Brown and Dancers performed at The Joyce Theater, Jacob’s Pillow, and The Kennedy Center. In 2016, BLACK GIRL was nominated for a Bessie Award for Outstanding Production. 

Gaunt was among the 2009 inaugural class of “world changing” TED Fellows. By 2018, her TED video “How the Jump Rope Got Its Rhythm” went viral with over 7M+ Facebook views. It has been translated into 28 languages on While a Senior TED Fellow (2020-22), her July 2020 article “The Magic of Black Girls Play” was Editors’ Pick of the Day in the New York Times. 

She is currently writing her next book PLAYED: How Music Orchestrates Violence Against Black Girls Online, which is sponsored by a 2022 $25,000 research grant from the Girls of Color Initiative of the Ms. Foundation for Women. 

Outside of academia, Dr. Gaunt is a principal qualitative researcher with a project on Black Internet Creativity and Trends and was featured in the 2021 Google Culture and Trends Report and she has been a federally-certified expert witness offering testimony for the defense and prosecution in cases involving Facebook.

A proud graduate of the School of Music at the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor and her start at a community college, Kyra continues to perform opera/art song, sings jazz & R&B, and compose her own songs available on iTunes and Spotify. For more, visit: 

Margo Martindale (Attended ’73)

Martindale is a three-time Emmy winner, receiving two consecutive Guest Actress in a Drama series Emmys for THE AMERICANS, and the third as Best Supporting Actress in a drama for her portrayal of Mags Bennet, crime family matriarch, in JUSTIFIED. Most recently, she earned an Emmy nomination for playing Bella Abzug in FX’s critically acclaimed miniseries MRS. AMERICA, opposite Cate Blanchett. Her other notable TV credits include SNEAKY PETE, THE ACT, THE GOOD WIFE and spinoff THE GOOD FIGHT. On the big-screen, Martindale can be seen in BLOW THE MAN DOWN, an official selection of the 2019 Tribeca Film Festival, as well as Alan Ball’s UNCLE FRANK on Amazon Prime. Last year she starred opposite Bryan Cranston in Showtime’s limited series YOUR HONOR. Margo can currently be seen as Lucianne Goldberg opposite Sarah Paulson in Ryan Murphy/FX’s American Crime Story: IMPEACHMENT. She just wrapped Elizabeth Banks’ COCAINE BEAR for Universal opposite Keri Russell, and is currently shooting Ryan Murphy’s next limited series THE WATCHER, opposite Bobby Cannavale and Naomi Watts, for Netflix.


Robert Gillespie
Aaron Dworkin


Kay Kaufman Shelemay
George Balch Wilson


Richard Hawkins
Laura Karpman


Jessye Norman
Frank Ticheli


Gerald Cleaver
Marianne Ploger


Dale Briggs
Cedric Carl Dent


Marvelene Moore
Jack O’Brien


Harriet Berg
Bob James


Sharon Jensen
Robert Phillips


Wayne S. Brown
Robert Cogan
Ann Arbor ONCE Festival


William Anderson
1961 Russian Tour Band


Nancy Ambrose King
Larry Rachleff


Bruce Galbraith
Carolee Stewart


Jerry Bilik
Cynthia Phelps


David Eisler
Francis Bundra


James Forger
Carl St. Clair


Harry Begian
George Shirley


Rosalie Edwards
Robert Spring


Judith Becker
Emil Raab


Emerson Head
Fred Ormand


Christine Dakin
H. Robert Reynolds


Edward J. Downing
Elizabeth Weil Bergmann

Earlier Winners (1977-1999)

Roberta Alexander
Mildred Andrews
Leslie R. Bassett
Josef Blatt
William Bolcom
Eugene Bossart
Allen P. Britton
George R. Cavender
Russell Lewis Christopher
Hugh Cooper
Robert J. Courte
David Crawford
Richard Crawford
George Crumb
Louise E. Cuyler
Orien Dalley
Hans Theodore David
Chip Davis
William Doppmann
Nicholas D. Falcone
Ross Lee Finney
Armando Ghitalla
Elizabeth Green
Nelson Hauenstein
Harold Haugh
Ralph Herbert
Thomas Hilbish
G. Maurice Hinson
H. Wiley Hitchcock
Marguerite V. Hood
Howard T. Howard
Marian Owen Hunt
Lawrence Hurst
Roger E. Jacobi
Kenneth Jewell
Ernest Jones
Edith Staebler Kempf
Maynard J. Klein
John Krell
Paul R. Lehman
Eva Likova
Clifford P. Lillya
Larry Livingston
Albert Luconi
William R. Malm
Marilyn Mason
John McCollum
Charlotte Whitman McGeoch
Glenn D. McGeoch
Robert Emmett McGrath
John D. Mohler
Earl V. Moore
Barbara Nissman
Weston Noble
Jessye Norman
Charles E. Owen
Willis Patterson
Ashley Putnam
Gail W. Rector
Willliam D. Revelli
Mary Romig-deYoung
Gilbert Ross
Gustave Rosseels
Judith Dow Rumelhart
James D. Salmon
Donald Sinta
Glenn P. Smith
Clarence E. Stephenson
Louis Stout
William H. Stubbins
Laurence L. Teal
Mary Teal
Nelita True
Glenn E. Watkins
Floyd E. Werle