Alumni Awards: Hall of Fame

2023 Winners

Priscilla Lindsay (BA ’71, MA ’72, theatre)

Priscilla Lindsay, Claribel Baird Halstead Collegiate Professor of Theatre, joined the faculty of SMTD’s Department of Theatre & Drama as its chair in 2010, serving in that position until spring 2021, when she stepped down as chair to focus on teaching and directing.

Following her formal training at U-M, Lindsay performed professionally at the Alley Theatre in Houston, Texas. Subsequently, she was appointed associate professor at the University of Missouri – Kansas City and became a member of the Missouri Repertory Theatre Company. Lindsay spent the bulk of her career with the Indiana Repertory Theatre (IRT), performing for more than 30 seasons in upwards of 50 roles. She also directed dozens of productions and served as associate artistic director for twelve years. She headed up the IRT’s Summer Conservatory for Youth program and was director of the Young Playwrights in Process playwriting competition. Lindsay has returned to perform with IRT several times since joining the SMTD faculty, most recently in the role of Mrs. Jennings in Sense & Sensibility.

Lindsay has directed a number of plays at U-M, including Tartuffe; You Never Can Tell; The Beaux’s Stratagem; Three Sisters; Henry IV, Part I; You for Me for You; Sense and Sensibility; and, most recently, Jen Silverman’s Bonnets: How Ladies of Good Breeding Are Induced to Murder. In addition to her theatrical talents, Lindsay has had a long and successful voiceover career, with clients including Maytag, Cool Whip, Gerber, Hyundai, Kraft, Kellogg’s, and McDonald’s, among many others. Lindsay will retire from SMTD in the spring of 2023.

Ava Ordman (BM & MM ’75, trombone)

Ava Ordman served for 24 years as principal trombone with the Grand Rapids Symphony – a job she attained at age 19. At age 41, Ordman returned to school to pursue a master’s degree in counseling psychology from Western Michigan University. In 1997, she began her work as a psychologist while subbing with the Detroit Symphony and Detroit Opera orchestras and teaching low brass at Oakland University. In 2002, Ordman was appointed professor of trombone at Michigan State University.

At MSU, in addition to her professorial duties, Ordman continues to enjoy a varied life as a performer. She is principal trombone of the Lansing Symphony Orchestra and the Cabrillo Festival of Contemporary Music Orchestra, and she performs with the Monarch Brass, which is the flagship brass ensemble of the International Women’s Brass Conference.

Ordman played her solo debut at Carnegie Hall in 1990 with the American Symphony and has been a featured artist at the International Trombone Festival; the International Brassfest; the American Trombone Workshop; and the International Women’s Brass Conference. She performed the world premieres of Steven Smith’s Trombone Concerto with the Eugene Symphony and Libby Larsen’s Mary Cassatt with the Grand Rapids Symphony; both works were written for Ordman and, along with Donald Erb’s Trombone Concerto, were performed by her throughout the United States. Ordman’s most recent venture was leading a consortium to commission a new trombone concerto by David Biedenbender; Their Eyes Are Fireflies received its world premiere in 2018 with the MSU Wind Symphony. Another recent milestone for Ordman was the release of a solo CD in 2017, It’s About Time: Music for Trombone by Women Composers.

In 2018, Ordman was named the recipient of the Neill Humfeld Award, for excellence in teaching, by the International Trombone Association.

Past Recipients


Kyra Gaunt
Margo Martindale


Robert Gillespie
Aaron Dworkin


Kay Kaufman Shelemay
George Balch Wilson


Richard Hawkins
Laura Karpman


Jessye Norman
Frank Ticheli


Gerald Cleaver
Marianne Ploger


Dale Briggs
Cedric Carl Dent


Marvelene Moore
Jack O’Brien


Harriet Berg
Bob James


Sharon Jensen
Robert Phillips


Wayne S. Brown
Robert Cogan
Ann Arbor ONCE Festival


William Anderson
1961 Russian Tour Band


Nancy Ambrose King
Larry Rachleff


Bruce Galbraith
Carolee Stewart


Jerry Bilik
Cynthia Phelps


David Eisler
Francis Bundra


James Forger
Carl St. Clair


Harry Begian
George Shirley


Rosalie Edwards
Robert Spring


Judith Becker
Emil Raab


Emerson Head
Fred Ormand


Christine Dakin
H. Robert Reynolds


Edward J. Downing
Elizabeth Weil Bergmann

Earlier Winners (1977-1999)

Roberta Alexander
Mildred Andrews
Leslie R. Bassett
Josef Blatt
William Bolcom
Eugene Bossart
Allen P. Britton
George R. Cavender
Russell Lewis Christopher
Hugh Cooper
Robert J. Courte
David Crawford
Richard Crawford
George Crumb
Louise E. Cuyler
Orien Dalley
Hans Theodore David
Chip Davis
William Doppmann
Nicholas D. Falcone
Ross Lee Finney
Armando Ghitalla
Elizabeth Green
Nelson Hauenstein
Harold Haugh
Ralph Herbert
Thomas Hilbish
G. Maurice Hinson
H. Wiley Hitchcock
Marguerite V. Hood
Howard T. Howard
Marian Owen Hunt
Lawrence Hurst
Roger E. Jacobi
Kenneth Jewell
Ernest Jones
Edith Staebler Kempf
Maynard J. Klein
John Krell
Paul R. Lehman
Eva Likova
Clifford P. Lillya
Larry Livingston
Albert Luconi
William R. Malm
Marilyn Mason
John McCollum
Charlotte Whitman McGeoch
Glenn D. McGeoch
Robert Emmett McGrath
John D. Mohler
Earl V. Moore
Barbara Nissman
Weston Noble
Jessye Norman
Charles E. Owen
Willis Patterson
Ashley Putnam
Gail W. Rector
Willliam D. Revelli
Mary Romig-deYoung
Gilbert Ross
Gustave Rosseels
Judith Dow Rumelhart
James D. Salmon
Donald Sinta
Glenn P. Smith
Clarence E. Stephenson
Louis Stout
William H. Stubbins
Laurence L. Teal
Mary Teal
Nelita True
Glenn E. Watkins
Floyd E. Werle