Music by John Kander
Lyrics by Fred Ebb
Book by Joe Masteroff
Based on the play by John Van Druten and stories by Christopher Isherwood

Department of Musical Theatre
October 9-19, 2014 • Lydia Mendelssohn Theatre

Willkommen, Bienvenue, Welcome – come enter the sordid, yet enticing, Kit Kat Club, presided over by a mysterious and seductive compere. Set in the midst of the decadent and flourishing creative culture of Weimar Berlin, an American writer finds inspiration at the Club in beguiling headliner Sally Boules. An avidly ambitious chanteuse, Sally seduces her way into Cliff’s bed and ultimately his heart. Yet not even Sally’s distraction can obliterate the looming threat of the Third Reich. As their world begins to crumble, Cliff, Sally, and those around them must choose between living with oblivious optimism or face a stark reality.

Cabaret became a landmark at its Broadway opening in 1967, won eight Tony awards and in 1972 was turned into an award-winning movie. In 1993, director Sam Mendes created a West End production that combined elements of both the play and film in a stunning new interpretation. Debuting five years later in the U.S., Mendes’ Cabaret won four Tony’s and is currently being revived on Broadway. Filled with poignant melodies and haunting lyrics reminiscent of Kurt Weill, Cabaret has a powerful dramatic quality that resounds in our minds and hearts. So step on in, get yourself a drink and come to the cabaret, old chum.

Artistic Staff

Director: Joe Locarro
Music Director/Conductor: Catherine A. Walker
Choreographer: Ron De Jesús
Scenic Design: Bruce Brockman
Costume Designer: Shawn McCulloch
Lighting Designer: Rob Murphy
Sound Designer: Jim Lillie
Wig & Makeup Designer: Erin Kennedy Lunsford
Additional Choreography: Joe Locarro
Stage Manager: Elana Lantry



Erik: Will Branner
Frieda: Emma Sohlberg
Musician/Christof: Eric Fegan
Colette: Liesl Collazo
Klaus: David Barnes
Yohan: Tyler Leahy

Emcee: Mackenzie Orr

The Kit Kat Girls

Rosie: Sophia Deery
Lulu: Jillian Slade
Frenchie: Alex Solari
Texas: Mallory Michaellann Brophy
Helga: Halli Toland
Inga: Hannah Flam

The Kit Kat Boys

Bobby: Benjamin Bogen
Victor: Wonza Johnson
Herman: Daniel Estrella
Hans: L’ogan J’ones

Clifford Bradshaw: Dylan Stasack
Ernst Ludwig: Brian Flores
Fraulein Schnieder: Ellie Todd
Fraulein Kost: Keaton Micucci
Herr Schultz: Kyle Timson
Sally Bowles: Isabelle McCalla
Max: Jordan Edwin André




[cycloneslider id=”14-15-cabaret”]


Posted on

November 11, 2018