Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street

Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street

Music & lyrics by Stephen Sondheim
Book by Hugh Wheeler

Department of Musical Theatre
April 18-21, 2019 • Power Center

Sweeney Todd is a musical melodrama set in the 1840s based on an allegedly true tale. Released from prison for a crime he didn’t commit, Sweeney vows revenge on the world for the loss of his family. With the assistance of his unhinged landlady Mrs. Lovett, Sweeney reaps a vengeance through his barbershop that is at once horrifying and exhilarating. Mrs. Lovett’s brilliant idea of how to deal with the aftermath of Todd’s handiwork makes her pie shop and the barber’s chair the most popular place in London. Will Sweeney’s obsession prevent him from recognizing a chance of salvation or will madness overwhelm all?

Opening on Broadway in 1979, Sweeney Todd was the second collaboration between Stephen Sondheim and Hugh Wheeler, following their success with A Little Night Music. The show won eight Tony Awards, including Best Musical, Score, and Book. Sweeney has been revived multiple times on Broadway, adapted into a motion picture, and is currently playing Off-Broadway in a new immersive production. Sondheim’s sublimely gruesome and funny musical features one of the most thrilling scores in musical theatre and includes such favorites as “A Little Priest,” “Not While I’m Around,” along the opening song “The Ballad of Sweeney Todd.” Attend the tale – if you dare!

Artistic Staff

Director/Choreographer: Vincent J. Cardinal
Music Director/Conductor: Catherine A. Walker
Choreographer: Ron De Jesús
Scenic Designer: Vince Mountain
Costume Designer: Jessica Hahn
Lighting Designer: Christopher M. Simko
Sound Designer: Al Hurschman
Wig & Makeup Designer: Ora Jewell-Busche
Dramaturg: Matthew Sanguine
Production Stage Manager: Berrit Keller


Sweeney Todd: Jamie Colburn
Mrs. Lovett: Allie Re
Anthony Hope: Blake Roman
Johanna: Emma Ashford
Tobias Ragg: Spencer LaRue
Judge Turpin: Hugh Entrekin
Beadle Bamford: Griffin Binnicker
Beggar Woman: Cydney Clark
Adolfo Pirelli: Aaron Robinson
Jonas Fogg: Griffin Silva
Young Lucy: Olivia Hardy
Ensemble: Zan Berube, Noah Eisenberg, Caroline Glazier, Olivia Hardy, Leila Shaye Hodgins, Erica Ito, Nicholas Kraft, Maggie Kuntz, Jack Mastrianni, Devon McCleskey, Jonas McMullen, Mark Mitrano, Megumi Nakamura (Fight and Dance Captain), Wilson Plonk, Alana Pollard, Commodore Primous, Justin Showell, Griffin Silva, Brianna Stoute, Chris Tamayo, Cole Thompson, Kaylie Mae Wallace, Lake Wilburn, James Young




Posted on

April 23, 2019