Home » Awards & Accolades » SMTD Announces Winners of Teaching Awards

SMTD Announces Winners of Teaching Awards

Jan 18, 2022 | Awards & Accolades, Faculty, News

The University of Michigan School of Music, Theatre & Dance recently named Colleen Conway and David Jackson as the recipients of 2022 SMTD teaching awards. In both cases, the nominations were endorsed by the SMTD Awards Committee and the Executive Committee. Congratulations to Professors Conway and Jackson! Visit the web pages of the Department of Music Education and the Department of Wind and Percussion Instruments to find out more about these SMTD departments.

Collen Conway headshot

Professor Colleen Conway, Department of Music Education, is the recipient of the 2022 SMTD Teaching Excellence Award. This award recognizes outstanding teaching in any SMTD department. In his announcement, Dean David Gier noted, “As many of you know, Colleen has a distinguished record of sustained excellence in teaching and mentoring, and is deeply deserving of this prestigious honor.”

David Jackson with tromboneProfessor David Jackson, Department of Wind and Percussion Instruments, is the recipient of the 2022 Harold Haugh Award for excellence in studio teaching. This award recognizes outstanding studio teaching in the departments of composition, jazz, organ, piano, strings, voice, or winds & percussion. Dean Gier stated, “David is a standout member of our studio teaching faculty with an extraordinary record of student success and is richly deserving of this award.” As specified in the award guidelines, Professor Jackson will present a recital/lecture during the fall 2022 term.



Latest News