Performances & Events


Symphony Band


March 13, 2024 | 8:00 pm

Hill Auditorium
825 N University Ave
Ann Arbor, MI 48109

Free - no tickets required

The confluence of light (and enlightenment) with music is front and center for this unique program. The concert begins with the brilliance of Baroque fireworks. The music then moves into the world of the illumination of the human soul, with brilliant works by Bach and Valerie Coleman, and culminating with Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Michael Colgrass’ monumental Winds of Nagual.

Jason Fettig, conductor
Robert Sullivan, trumpet soloist
Alexander Scott and Rachel Zephir, guest conductors (Handel and Coleman)


Georg Friderick Handel, ed. Charles Mackerras
Overture, Music for the Royal Fireworks

Gustav Holst
2nd Suite in F

Johan Sebastian Bach, Arr. Edward Elgar/ Trans. Ryan Nowlin
Fantasia and Fugue in C minor

Valerie Coleman
Fanfare for Uncommon Times

Michael Colgrass
Winds of Nagual

Program note: The wind ensemble world premiere of James Stephenson’s Spinning Wheel has been postponed due to injury. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Concert Free Live-stream Option Central Campus

Event details may change; please review before you attend.

Other Performance Dates