Andrew W. Mead

Professor Emeritus of Music


Andrew Mead is former chair of the Department of Music Theory. He holds degrees from Yale and Princeton Universities, and has published articles on a variety of topics, including the music of Milton Babbitt, Elliott Carter, Arnold Schoenberg and Anton Webern, as well as on abstract twelve-tone theory and rhythmic theory. His works have appeared in Music Theory Spectrum, Perspectives of New Music, The Journal of Music Theory, Theory and Practice, and elsewhere. His book, An Introduction to the Music of Milton Babbitt, is published by Princeton University Press, and he helped edit The Collected Essays of Milton Babbitt, also published by Princeton. He is a recipient of the Young Scholar Publications Award from the Society of Music Theory.

Professor Mead is also active as a composer, and has received the Goddard Lieberson Fellowship from the American Institute/Academy of Arts and Letters. Recent music includes saxophone quartets for PRISM and the Larry Teal Saxophone Quartet, a song cycle for Jennifer Goltz and Brave New Works on texts by Amy Clampitt, and works written for saxophonists Timothy McAllister and Brian Sacawa.