Calendar of Events

Symphony Band

Mixed Emotions

  1. Friday November 16 8:00pm
Hill Auditorium

Michael Haithcock, conductor
Elliott Tackitt, graduate conductor
Chad Lilley, soprano saxophone
Andrew Hasher, alto saxophone
Jonathan Hostottle, tenor saxophone
Connor O’Toole, baritone saxophone

Pre-concert conversation with Michael Daugherty, Tim McAllister, and Michael Haithcock at 7:15 PM in the Lower Lobby.

A joyous fanfare by English composer William Alwyn is followed by a requiem for our modern cities by Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Michael Colgrass. The duality of Bach’s classic mixture of contrapuntal writing for the keyboard is re-imagined in a unique setting for band. The destruction of war and the promise of peace is explored by U-M’s award-winning professor of composition, Michael Daugherty. A melancholy setting of Oh Danny Boy finds a home between two vibrant settings by the always crowd-pleasing Percy Grainger.

PROGRAM: William Alwyn- Fanfare for a Joyful Occasion; Michael Colgrass- Urban Requiem for Solo Saxophone Quartet; J. S. Bach- Fantasia and Fugue in C minor (Elgar setting transcribed for band); Michael Daugherty- Of War and Peace; Percy Grainger- Molly on the Shore, Irish Tune, Handel in the Strand

Free - no tickets required