School of Music, Theatre and Dance at the University of Michigan

University Symphony Orchestra

Hill Auditorium

University Symphony Orchestra

This concert of the University Symphony Orchestra features the jazz and blues inspired saxophone concerto by Takashi Yoshimatsu, with soloist Aiwen Zhang, winner of the 2022 SMTD Concerto Competition. Yoshimatsu’s concerto is subtitled Cyber Bird, which refers to “an imaginary bird in the realm of electronic cyberspace.” The title comes from words the composer’s sister said as she was dying of cancer, “I would like to be a bird in my next life.” The concert opens with music by composer and leader of the Mothers of Invention, Frank Zappa, and includes Aaron Copland’s pastoral music for the film Our Town and Leonard Bernstein’s music from West Side Story turned into a brilliant virtuoso piece for large orchestra.


Zappa, Strictly Genteel

Takashi Yoshimatsu, Cyberbird Concerto

Copland, Our Town

Bernstein, Symphonic Dances from West Side Story

hill organ