School of Music, Theatre and Dance at the University of Michigan

Symphony Band

Hill Auditorium

Symphony Band

The Symphony Band celebrates the legacy of William Bolcom and the rich history of being the first music school to offer a classical saxophone degree with a performance of Bolcom’s Concerto for Soprano Saxophone and Band with its internationally celebrated saxophone professor Timothy McAllister as soloist. A work by Bolcom’s teacher, Darius Milhaud, is also featured as is a work by then 17-year old Mozart and work of diverse styles connecting US and Chinese musical traditions by Zhou Tian.


 “Suite Francaise” by Darius Milhaud

Concerto for Soprano Saxophone by William Bolcom

Divertimento No. 3 in E-flat, K. 166 by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Sinfonia by Zhou Tian