Past Lectures


Ethel V. Curry Distinguished Lecture in Musicology

To date, the featured speakers for this prestigious series have included:

2021 Manuel Pedro Ferreira (Centro de Estudos de Sociologia e Estética Musical, Portugal)
2020 Timothy Rice (University of California, Los Angeles)
2018 Tim Carter and Annegret Fauser (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
2016 Nicholas Cook (University of Cambridge)
2015 Ellen Koskoff (Eastman School of Music)
2013 Anne C. Shreffler (Harvard University)
2011 Jeff Titon (Brown University)
2009 Susan McClary (University of California, Los Angeles)
2008 Bonnie Wade (University of California, Berkeley)
2007 Karol Berger (Stanford University)
2006 Ingrid Monson (Harvard University)
2005 Steven Feld (University of New Mexico)
2004 James Hepokoski (Yale University)

2003 Philip Gossett (University of Chicago)
2002 Kofi Agawu (Princeton University)
2001 Christopher Waterman (University of California, Los Angeles)
2000 Glenn Watkins (emeritus, University of Michigan)

1999 Kay Shelemay (Harvard University)
1998 Anthony Seeger (Smithsonian Folkways)
1997 Richard Taruskin (University of California, Berkeley)
1996 Philip Brett (University of California, Berkeley)
1995 Maynard Solomon (emeritus, Graduate Center, City University of New York)
1994 Ruth Solie (Smith College)
1993 Margaret Murata (University of California, Irvine)
1992 Bruno Nettl (University of Illinois)
1991 Howard Mayer Brown (University of Chicago)

Musicology Departmental Lectures

Special speakers – sponsored by the department directly or with funding from the Lester P. Monts Diversity Lecture Series – have included:

John Rice (Independent Scholar)
Kyra Gaunt (University at Albany, SUNY)
The Gerschwins’ Porgy and Bess: A Symposium
Inderjt Kaur (University of California at Santa Cruz)

Chris Chowrimootoo (University of Notre Dame)
Tomie Hahn (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute)
Keith Howard (SOAS, University of London)
Stephanie Jordan (University of Roehampton)

Jane Bernstein (Tufts University)
Thomas Irvine (University of Southampton)
Kate van Orden (Harvard University)
Holly Watkins (Eastman School of Music, University of Rochester)

Kofi Agawu (Princeton University)
Dinko Fabris (Università della Basilicata and Conservatorio di Napoli, President IMS)
Michael Figueroa (University of North Carolina)
Barbara Haws (NY Philharmonic)
Glenn Watkins (University of Michigan)

Sanjoy Bandopadhyay (Rabindra Bharati University, Kolkata)
Lorenzo Candelaria (University of Texas, El Paso)
Mark Clauge (University of Michigan)
Armand d’Anjour (University of Oxford)
Robert Fink (University of California, Los Angeles)
Berthold Hoeckner (University of Chicago)
Makikio Sakurai
J. Lawrence Witzleben (University of Maryland)

Nathan Hesselink (University of British Columbia)
Maureen Mahon (New York University)
Anne Robertson (University of Chicago)
Barbara Haws (New York Philharmonic)
Michell Brodsky (Digital Archives)
John Rice (University of Michigan)
William Kinderman (University of Illinois)
Stefano Mengozzi (University of Michigan)
Jocelyne Guilbault (University of California, Berkeley)
David Locke (Tufts University)

Susan Thomas (University of Georgia)
Mark Slobin (Wesleyan University)
Steven Whiting (University of Michigan)
Stephen Slawek (University of Texas at Austin)
Dennis Herlin (IRPMF/CNRS)

Charles Carson (University of Texas)
Joseph Lam (University of Michigan)
Ellen Rosand (Yale University)
W. Anthony Sheppard (WIlliams College)

James Borders (University of Michigan)
Walter Frisch (Columbia University)
James Grier (University of Western Ontario)
Keith Howard (University of Sydney)
Louise Meintjes (Duke University)
Thomas Turino (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)

Katherine Bergeron (Brown University)
Beverley Diamond (Memorial University in Newfoundland) and Paul-André Dubois (Université Laval)
Paul Andre Dubois (Université Laval)
Jane Fulcher (University of Michigan)
David Hughes (University of London)

Peter Manuel (CUNY Graduate Center)
Carol Oja (Harvard University)
Louise Stein (University of Michigan)

Sherrie Tucker (University of Kansas)
R. John Wiley (University of Michigan)
Richard Wistreich (Newcastle University)

Judith Becker (University of MIchigan)
Katherine Hagedorn (Pomona College)
Martha Feldman (University of Chicago)

Guthrie Ramsey, Jr. (University of Pennsylvania)
Ali Jihad Racy (University of California, Los Angeles)
Deborah Wong (University of California, Riverside)

Before 2005
Wye J. Allenbrook (University of California, Berkeley)
Thomas Bauman (Northwestern University)
Michael Beckerman (New York University)
Ellen T. Harris (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Daniel Herwitz (University of Michigan)
Sherri Jones (concert pianist) and Albrecht Reithmuller (Free University of Berlin)
Ana María Ochoa (Columbia University)
Anne Rasmussen (The College of William and Mary)
Rose R. Subotnik (Brown University)
Bell Yung (University of Pittsburgh)
Rob Wegman (Princeton University)