main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

main menu

Rackham Graduate Auditions


blog

2017–2018 Audition Dates for Rackham Programs (DMA, MA, MFA, PhD)

Maps, travel, and lodging information are available on this site, and will also be emailed to you in advance of your audition. Approximately two weeks before your confirmed audition/interview date, you will be notified of your specific audition or interview time and room location.

 

Please note the following application deadlines:

 

December 1 Composition, Composition/Music Theory, Conducting, Dance, Media Arts, Performance
January 5 Musicology and Music Theory

 

Doctoral Audition Dates by Instrument (2017–2018)

 

Bassoon

Wednesday, February 14

Requirements
Cello

Tuesday, February 13

Requirements
Clarinet

Wednesday, February 14

Requirements
Double Bass

Tuesday, February 13

Requirements
Euphonium

Friday, February 16

Requirements
Flute

Wednesday, February 14

Requirements
French Horn

CLOSED

Requirements
Harp

TBD

Requirements
Harpsichord

Friday, February 2

Friday, February 9

Requirements
Oboe

CLOSED

Requirements
Organ

Friday, February 2

Friday, February 9

Requirements
Percussion

Thursday, February 1

Thursday, February 8

Requirements
Piano
(Performance)

Wednesday, February 21

Thursday, February 22

Friday, February 23

Requirements
Saxophone

CLOSED

Requirements
Trombone

Friday, February 16

Requirements
Trumpet

CLOSED

Requirements
Tuba

CLOSED

Requirements
Viola

Tuesday, February 13

Requirements
Violin

Tuesday, February 13

Requirements
Voice

Friday, January 12

Friday, January 19

Friday, January 26

Friday, February 2

Friday, February 9

Friday, February 16

Requirements

 

Doctoral Audition Dates by Major (2017–2018)

 

Collaborative Piano

Friday, February 2

Friday, February 23

Requirements
Composition

Friday, January 19

Friday, January 26

Friday, February 16*

*All Skype/FaceTime Interviews

Requirements
Conducting: Choral

Individually Arranged

Requirements
Conducting: Orchestral

Tuesday, March 13

*Wednesday, March 14

*Second round auditions and interviews only

Requirements
Conducting: Band/Wind Ensemble

Individually Arranged

Requirements
Dance (MFA)

January 17 & 18

(two-day audition/interview)

Requirements
Media Arts (MA)

Friday, February 16

Requirements
Music Education

Friday, February 2

Requirements
Piano Pedagogy & Performance

Thursday, February 22

Friday, February 23

Requirements
Sacred Music

Friday, February 2

Friday, February 9

Requirements

 

main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

Photography Credits:

U-M Photo Services

Joe Welsh

Peter Smith

David Smith

Glen Behring

Tom Bower

×