main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

main menu


Music by Stephen Flaherty
Lyrics by Lynne Ahrens
Book by Terrence McNally
Based on the novel by E. L. Doctorow

A powerful look at America at the turn of the 20th century through the lives of three diverse families.

Department of Musical Theatre

Power Center

April 15  - 18, 2010


The Story: It is 1906 in America, the land of opportunity. Three diverse groups in New York City – a protestant, white, middle-class family, a Jewish immigrant and his daughter, and an African American musician and his girlfriend – are experiencing dizzying changes in American society. Industrial expansion with the burgeoning labor movement, waves of immigration, newfound freedom for blacks, and woman’s rights are affecting them in dramatic ways. As their lives unexpectedly intertwine with each other and with historical personalities of the era such as J.P. Morgan, Harry Houdini, Evelyn Nesbit, and Booker T. Washington, some embrace the changes with new hope while others bear the bitter realization that promised opportunities may still be out of their reach.

Artistic Significance: Written by the musical team of Stephen Flaherty and Lynn Ahrens (Seussical) with a book by Terrence McNally (Kiss of the Spider Woman), Ragtime is based on the 1975 award-winning novel by E. L. Doctorow. The diverse score incorporates Jewish folk songs, vaudeville, jazz, and, of course, ragtime, featuring such songs as “Wheels of a Dream,” “Your Daddy’s Son,” “Make Them Hear You,” and the rousing opening title number. The show garnered 13 Tony nominations in 1998, winning for Best Score, Book, and Orchestrations (losing the top honor to The Lion King). The New Yorker declared the show “a powerful musical experience.” Filled with heartbreak and hope, Ragtime is a dazzling panorama depicting the strength of America.



Alex Akin (San Francisco, CA), Adrian Baidoo (Pittsburgh, PA),

Jordan Barrow (Flanders, NJ), Dan Belnavis (Montclair, NJ),

Daniel Berryman (Seattle, WA), Amy Blackman (New York City, NY),
R. J. Brown (Norfolk, VA), Tyler Brunsman (Perrysburg, OH),

Will Burton (Marietta, GA), Joe Carroll (Grand Rapids, MI),
Amanda Choate (Brunswick, ME), Britney Coleman (Ann Arbor, MI),

Michael De Souza (Dearborn Heights, MI), Melissa Golliday (St. Joseph, MI), Marken Greenwood (Palos Verdes, CA), Holly Grossman (Weston, FL),
Olivia Hernandez (Fullerton, CA), Andrés Holder (Panama City, Panamá),

A. J. Holmes (Agoura Hills, CA), Matéo Hunter (Ann Arbor, MI),

Laura Irion (Canton, OH), Brene’ Jackson (Macomb Township, MI),
Collin Janich (Birmingham, AL), Andy Jones (Swampscott, MA),

Hava Kaplan (Ann Arbor, MI), Sam Lips (Parker, CO),
Katie Madison (Traverse City, MI), Samantha Massell (New York, NY),

Allison McDowell (Marietta, GA), Nora Menken (North Salem, NY),

Alle-Faye Monka (Morristown, NJ), Kevin Munhall (Wichita, KS),
Desi Oakley (Wichita, KS), Kent Overshown (Oakland, CA),

Danny Romeo (Laurel, MD), Gavriel Savit (Ann Arbor, MI),
Dereck Seay (Winter Haven, FL), Trevor St. John-Gilbert (Rockwall, TX), Katherine Thomas (Kenosha, WI), James Tolbert (Sterling Heights, MI),

Milo Tucker-Meyer (Ann Arbor, MI), Travis Ward-Osborne (Albuquerque, NM)

ragtime logo

Artistic Staff

Director Mark Madama
Music Director Cynthia Kortman Westphal
Choreographer Lyndy Franklin Smith
Scenic & Lighting Designer

David Neville

Costume Designer Jessica Hahn
Wig Designer Dawn Rivard
Stage Manager Mitchell B. Hodges


itunesListen to songs from Ragtime on iTunes


Click here to view photos from Ragtime


Click here to view the program to Ragtime

main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

Photography Credits:

U-M Photo Services

Joe Welsh

Peter Smith

David Smith

Glen Behring

Tom Bower