main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

main menu
ticketed events


Campus Philharmonia Orchestra & Campus Symphony Orchestra

Monday, November 6, 2017

8:00pm, Hill Auditorium


Daniel Brottman, Jotaro Nakano, Diego Piedra, Charlotte Politi, Régulo Stabilito, Rotem Weinberg, conductors

The Campus Philharmonia Orchestra, conducted by Rotem Weinberg, Daniel Brottman, Régulo Stabilito, and Charlotte Politi performs three staples of the orchestral repertoire. The dramatic first movement of Schubert's “Unfinished” Symphony will be followed by two French works for chamber orchestra: Faure's lyrical Suite from the ballet Pelléas et Mélisande, and Debussy's light-hearted Petite Suite.

The Campus Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Diego Piedra and Jotaro Nakano, performs three beloved, dream-like works that dwell on fantasy. Inspired by Shakespeare’s play, and written at the age of 17, Mendelssohn’s Midsummer Night’s Dream Overture takes listeners through a journey of imagination and wonder. The concert continues with Debussy’s Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun, an enchanting and trance-like piece that influenced many succeeding composers and compositions. The concert closes with Schumann’s Symphony No. 4, a timeless work written during one of Schumann's happiest and most prolific years.

Free - no tickets required

main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

Photography Credits:

U-M Photo Services

Joe Welsh

Peter Smith

David Smith

Glen Behring

Tom Bower