main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

main menu

Strings Alumni

Department of Strings Alumni


Here is what some of our violin alumni have achieved since completing their programs at the School of Music, Theatre & Dance:

Haerim (Liz) Lee (DMA 2016) has won a Tarisio Career Grant. Liz is also a member of the Evita Quartet which was a prize-winner of the 2014 Fischoff Competition and finalist in the 2015 Wigmore Hall competition

Rebecca Ansel (DMA ’99) was awarded fellowships at Aspen & Tanglewood festivals,  served as Professor at Ohio State University, and has been appointed Professor Ithaca College 2002

Andrée Azar (MM '86) was a member of the Montreal Symphony, and is currently Professor at the Conservatoire de Quebec in Canada

Marjorie Bagley was first violin of the Arcata String Quartet and Professor of Violin at Utah State University. She is now Professor of Violin at Ohio University at Athens.

Jeremy Black (MM '02) is a member of the Pittsburgh Symphony. He has performed frequently with the Chicago Symphony, and is currently the concertmaster of the Grant Park Music Festival Orchestra.

Laurel Butler (DMA ‘95) is a Professor at Ohio State University

Tim Christie (MM ’02) won Aspen Fellowships, played with New World Symphony and Seattle symphony, and is Professor at University of Puget Sound. He is also the founder of the WallaWalla Chamber Music Festival.

Scott Conklin (DMA '03) was  awarded Aspen Fellowships, and is currently Professor at University of Iowa

Aaron Dworkin is the Director Sphinx Competition. He was awarded the MacArthur Foundation Genius Award, the National Governor’s Association Distinguished Service Award, the Bingham Foundation Award, University of Michigan School of Music, Theatre & Dance Paul Boylan Award for Outstanding Alumni, and was named in Crain’s Who Who in Emerging Detroit Business. Appointed 2015 as Dean of the Umiversity of Michigan School of Music Theater and Dance.

Lara Hall (DMA '04) has been appointed Research Associate at Waikato University, Hamilton, New Zealand

Carolyn Huebl (DMA '00) won Aspen & Tanglewood fellowships, and is on the faculty of Blair School of Music, Theatre & Dance, Vanderbilt University.

Laura Jackson (DMA ’05)  is Assistant Conductor with the Atlanta Symphony

Jeremy Kittel (BM '05), Jazz and Irish Fiddler, was featured as soloist with the Detroit Symphony Orchestra for four sold out subscription series concerts. He has also performed with the Rochester Philharmonic. He is the first prize winner of the American String Teachers Association Alternative Styles Competition, and has won the Detroit Music Awards Best Folk Artist. On CD he was a soloist on Grammy winning album Bolcom Songs of Innocence and Experience (Naxos), and has recently celebrated the Release of his third Solo CD, Jeremy Kittel Jazz Violin.

Min Lee (BM '05) has been featured as soloist with San Diego Symphony, Philharmonia Orchestra, Czech Philharmonic Chamber Orchestra, Vienna Chamber Orchestra, Adelaide Symphony Orchestra (Australia), and Singapore Symphony Orchestra. She is a recording artist for Universal.

Fabian Lopez (DMA '07) is Assistant Professor of Violin at University of North Carolina Greensboro

Katie McLin (DMA ’96) is a Professor at Arizona State University, and concertmaster of ProMusica Chamber Orchestra in Ohio. She was a fellow at Aspen Music Festival.

Christopher Neal (DMA ’97) won Tanglewood fellowships, and is a member of the Houston Symphony

Esther Noh (MM’02) was a Stuhlberg Competition Winner, and has collaborated with Bang on a Can Ensemble in New York City

Yuki Numata (MM '05) - Specialist in new music for many NYC ensembles. Assistant Professor at SUNY Buffalo.

Daniel Roumain (MM ’98) is a Composer in New York City

Maria Sampen (DMA '02) was awarded Tanglewood & Aspen fellowships, and was appointed Professor at the University of Puget Sound

Mari Sato (MM ’97) Joined Cavani Quartet and and is on the faculty of Cleveland Institute of Music

Carolyn Semanchik (BM ’97) played with the New World Symphony, and performs often with the Pittsburgh Symphony and the Milwaukee Symphony. She is a member of the Grant Park Music Festival Orchestra.

Martha Walvoord (DMA ‘05) was a fellow at Tanglewood, appointed Professor at the University of Texas at Arlington 2006

main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

Photography Credits:

U-M Photo Services

Joe Welsh

Peter Smith

David Smith

Glen Behring

Tom Bower