main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

main menu

Joseph Schwantner Guest Residency


On Nov 19th Pulitzer prize-winning composer Joseph Schwantner was in residence with the UM Composition Department in conjunction with the Ford made in America program. Schwantner’s time in Michigan culminated with the premiere of his piece Chasing Light, performed by the Plymouth Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Nan Washburn.

During this residency Schwantner met informally with students and presented a seminar on his music. Students were invited to attend both the dress rehearsal and performance, and had the opportunity to watch Schwantner work with the orchestra, and to benefit from his generous advice about how to build a career in music.

past news

March 2017

Alumnus Michael-Thomas Foumai, MM '11, DMA '14, was named one of the 2017 Morton Gould Young Composer Award recipients by ASCAP.   03/30/2017

Dean Dworkin's statement on proposed elimination of NEA and NEH 03/16/2017

June 2016
January 2016
October 2013

Professor Bright Sheng is profiled in the Detroit News, in anticipation of the debut of his violin concerto, "Let Fly," to be performed by Gil Shaham with the Detroit Symphony Orchestra Oct 4-6, 2013, conducted by Leonard Slatkin.    10/02/2013

September 2013

DMA composition student Patrick Harlin has been named the first-ever winner of the Hermitage Prize, awarded by the Aspen Music Festival and the Hermitage Artist Retreat.    09/04/2013

November 2011
November 2009
May 2009
(From left to right) Joseph Schwantner, composer James Aikman, conductor Nan Washburn, faculty Evan Chambers, and UM alum Lisa Raschiatore
Current News
Composer Ricky Ian Gordon will be SMTD's commencement speakermore
Prof. Michael Daugherty’s new CD features Prof. Amy Porter, alumna Carol Jantsch, and Dame Evelyn Glenniemore
Video Game Music Conference to take place at U-Mmore

main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

Photography Credits:

U-M Photo Services

Joe Welsh

Peter Smith

David Smith

Glen Behring

Tom Bower