main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

main menu

Composition Alumni

This is an extensive list of graduates of the Department of Composition. Alumni are invited to provide any new resume/career information as well any missing information about other graduates. Please send comments, questions and information to



Total: 41 | Now Viewing: 1-40  Next Page

Jackson, Sean MMus 1989

Kremen, Israel D.M.A. 1989

Stukenholtz, Larry D.M.A. 1989

Gompper, David D.M.A. 1988
Professor, Composition; Director, Center for New Music University of Iowa
Fulbright Scholar, (2002-2003)
Music faculty University of Texas, Arlington until 1991

Peebles, Sarah BMus 1988
Expert in Max programming and music composition
Awards from the Canada Council, Ontario Arts Council, Toronto Arts Council, the Banff Centre for the Arts, the Japan-United States Friendship Commission, the American Composers Forum
ASCAP Annual Awards
ASCAP Morton Gould Composer Award
BMI Student Composers Award (1987)

Swanson, Karin MMus 1988

Flippo, Dave D.M.A. 1987
Teacher, College of Lake County, Grayslake, IL

Hinds, Stuart D.M.A. 1987

Rouse, Steve D.M.A. 1987
Rome Prize, American Academy in Rome (1987-88)
Meet The Composer Residency (Louisville) (1995-98)
National Endowment for the Arts Composer Fellowship (1990)
Hinrichsen Composition Award, American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters (1995)
Ives Composition Fellowship, American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters (1985)

Ticheli, Frank D.M.A. 1987
Professor of Composition at the University of Southern California
Composer in Residence of the Pacific Symphony (1991-1998)
Charles Ives and Goddard Lieberson Awards from the American Academy of Arts and Letters (1986 and 1990)
Winner of the 2006 NBA/William D. Revelli Memorial Band Composition Contest

Youtz, Greg D.M.A. 1987
Professor of Music (Composition), Pacific Lutheran University
Charles Ives Award from the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters, (1984)
Annual awards from ASCAP since 1990

Hershey, Sharon BMus 1986
Music faculty at West Chester University
BMI Awards (1982, 84, 87)
Vienna Modern Masters Competition, winner

Lukasik, Joseph MMus 1986
Composition/Music technology faculty, University of Colorado at Boulder
CD on Albany Records

Myers, Bar BMus 1986

Neil, William D.M.A. 1986
Executive Director, Driftless Jazz Festival
McKnight Foundation Visiting Composer (2008)
Composer-in-Residence, Lyric Opera of Chicago (1984-1986)
Rome Prize (1982)
Charles Ives Award from the American Academy and Insitute of Arts and Letters (1980)
Fulbright Fellowship (1979)

Swaim, David MMus 1986

Heppenstall, Carl BMus 1985

Kurek, Michael D.M.A. 1985
Professor, Chair of Composition/Theory, Vanderbilt University
Academy Award in Music from the American Academy of Arts and Letters (1994)
Charles Ives Scholarship from the American Academy of Arts and Letters (1983)
MacDowell Fellowship
Fromm Fellowship in Composition at the Tanglewood Music Center;

MacDonald, Andrew D.M.A. 1985
Chair and Professor of Composition/Theory, Bishop's University, Sherbrooke, Quebec
1995 Juno Award for “Best Classical Composition

Pavelich, Michael MMus 1985

Sheppard, Suzanne MMus 1985
ASCAP Foundations Grant
Prize from the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters
Two awards from the Composers Guild for her popular music
She is published by C. F. Peters Corp.

Levin, Todd BMus 1984
Performances by the American Composers Orchestra and the Metropolitan Orchestra
CD on Deutsche Grammophon
New York Youth Symphony Commission

Beckon Alston, Lettie D.M.A. 1983
Associate Professor of Music in composition and theory, Oakland University
Recitalist at the 1999 Second Symposium of Black Women Composers at Hampton University

Bering, Glenn MMus 1983
Percussionist for the U of M dance department
Ongoing research into the music of Polish gypsy musicians Tomcha and Vlasch

Gryc, Stephen D.M.A. 1983
Associate Professor of Composition and Theory at the Hartt School, University of Hartford
Rudolf Nissim Prize for Orchestral Composition, ASCAP Foundation, (1986)
MacDowell Colony Fellowships, (1985, 1988)
Charles Ives Center Fellowship (1988)

Hodgins, Paul MMus 1983
Working for the Orange County Register since 1993
Teaches journalism at Cal State Fullerton

Lavenda, Richard D.M.A. 1983
Professor of Composition and Theory, Shepherd School of Music, Rice University
First Prize Award from the National Opera Association

Robertson, William MMus 1983

Russell, Betsy MMus 1983

Stine, Jerome BMus 1983

Colson, David BMus 1982
University of Iowa's Philip Greely Clapp Composition Award
Rice University's Sallie Shepherd Perkins Prize
Founder of the Current and Modern Consort
Was a member of the Center for New Music at the University of Iowa
Grammy nomination for conducting

Durkee, Arthur BMus 1982
Fulbright Grant to study Surakarta and Bandung, Java, Indonesia traditional music & arts, 1985–1986.
Drexel/ATMOS Percussion Quartet Composition Contest, First Place Award (1981)

Glowaty, Andrew MMus 1982

Maki, Robert BMus 1982

Sloan, Donald D.M.A. 1982
Professor of Music and Chair of the Music Department for Coastal Carolina University
Professor of Music (and Chair of Music Department), Ashland University, Ashland, OH
Meet The Composer grants

Sloan, Donald MMus 1982

Yoo, Byung-Eun MMus 1982
Professor of composition at the Korean National University of Arts School of Music.
Producing works based on the Korean traditional music since 1980s

Zon, Bennett BMus 1982
Professor at Durham University
Researches mainly in areas of nineteenth- and twentieth-century historiography and aesthetics
He is founder and General Editor of the international peer-reviewed journal Nineteenth-Century Music Review

Howell, Doug BMus 1981

Stoll, Philip BMus 1981
BMI Composer Award (1972)

Total: 41 | Now Viewing: 1-40  Next Page

main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

Photography Credits:

U-M Photo Services

Joe Welsh

Peter Smith

David Smith

Glen Behring

Tom Bower