main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

main menu

Composition Alumni

This is an extensive list of graduates of the Department of Composition. Alumni are invited to provide any new resume/career information as well any missing information about other graduates. Please send comments, questions and information to



Carlson, John MMus 1969

Foley, David MMus 1969
Associate Professor Emeritus of Music Theory and Composition, Ball State University
Three residencies at the MacDowell Colony
Fellowship from Creativity Center at Northwood University Midland, MI

Griffith, Peter BMus 1969
BMI Award 1968
First Guitarist Admitted to the University of Michigan
First Guitar Instructor at Interlochen
First Composer’s String Quartet Award Winner (1967)

Beerman, Burton MMus 1968
Composer, clarinetist, director of the BGSU Analog and Digital Music and Recording Studios
Founder of the New Music Festival at BGSU
Awards include first prize from the International Society of Bassists for Voices, the Martha K. Cooper Orchestra Prize for Moments, a D. Lipscomb Prize for Romance for piano and tape
Recordings on Advance, Access, Orion and Capstone labels
Recipient of the 1999 Olscamp Research Award at BGSU and a 2008 Governer’s Award for the Arts in Ohio.

Fortner, Jack D.M.A. 1968
Conductor / Composition faculty at the University of Michigan (1966-70)
Composition faculty at California State University, Fresno. (1970-)
Rome Prize Fellowship, 1967
ASCAP awards 1967, 1968, 1969
Published by Theodore Presser Company
Music Director, Sinfonia Chamber Orchestra, Grand Rapids, MI 1964-74
Assistant Conductor, Grand Rapids Symphony, 1964-65
Conductor of the Contemporary Directions Ensemble, U of M 1966-70
Music Director, Merced (CA) Symphony, 1971-76
Guest Conductor, Detroit Symphony

Hodkinson, Sydney D.M.A. 1968
Professor of Composition at the Eastman School until 1999
Visiting Professor of Composition at Indiana University (2002), Duke University (2003)
Composition Faculty at the Aspen Festival of Music
National Institute of Arts and Letters Award (1971)
Guggenheim Foundation Award (1977)
Award from the National Endowment for the ARTs

Smith, Clifford BMus 1968

Vercoe, Barry D.M.A. 1968
Inventor of Csound
Professor of Music and Professor of Media Arts and Sciences at MIT
Established the MIT computer facility for Experimental Music (1973)
Guggenheim Fellowship (1983)
Computer World/Smithsonian Award in Media Arts and Entertainment (1992)
2004 SEAMUS Lifetime Achievement Award

Rich, David MMus 1967

Toensing, Richard D.M.A. 1967
Professor of Composition, University of Colorado in Boulder through 2001
Joseph H. Bearnes Prize from Columbia University
Guggenheim Fellowship (1987)
Commission from the National Endowment for the Arts
Three time MacDowell Colony Fellow

Vernon, Knight MMus 1967

Perlongo, Daniel MMus 1966
Associate Professor of music at Indiana University of Pennsylvania
American Prix de Rome
Guggenheim Fellowship
American Academy-National Institute of Arts and Letters award
Performances by the Pittsburgh Symphony Chamber Orchestra and the American Composers Orchestra.

Wells, Rosemary BMus 1966

Weber, Margaret MMus 1964

James, Robert MMus 1963

Nuernberger, L. Dean PhD 1963
Emeritus Professor of Music Theory, Oberlin
Studies with Nadia Boulanger

Trogan, Roland D.M.A. 1963
President of Dr. Trogan’s Music School
BMI award (1954)

Wilson, George D.M.A. 1963
Fulbright to Belgium and France (1953)
Prix de Rome (1955-58)
Established University of Michigan Electronic Music Department (1962)
Professor Emeritus of Music Composition, University of Michigan

Matthews, Donald BMus 1962

Bilik, Jerry MMus 1961
Arrangements for the US Military Band at West Point and the University of Michigan Marching Band.
Has written for radio and TV, and films including “Starsky and Hutch” and ‘Charlie's Angels.”
Vice President of creative development for “Disney on Ice”
Composer of the "Block M March"

Cunningham, Michael MMus 1961
Taught theory and composition at universities in Michigan, California, Kansas and Indiana
In residence at the University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire since 1973
Teaches ten theory and composition related subjects having developed text-workbooks in five of those areas

Reynolds, Roger MMus 1961
Pulitzer Prize for “Whispers Out of Time”
Published exclusively by C.F. Peters Corporation
Uniquely varied career entwines language with the spatial aspects of music
Extensive orchestral catalog includes commissions from the Philadelphia, Los Angeles and BBC Orchestras
A prominent writer, lecturer, and musical organizer

Tice, David MMus 1961
Active as a composer in NY experimental theater, composing scores for such shows as “Radio Wisdom” (Richard Foreman), “Owls in the Ivy” (Arthur Williams), “Dead Wrong!” (Jeffrey Herman), “Twenty-four Inches” (Robert Patrick) and “The Tree Artist” (Rosalyn Drexler).
Two ASCAP awards

Wise, Bruce D.M.A. 1961

Coleman, Jr., Edwin BMus 1960

Crumb, George D.M.A. 1960
Pulitzer Prize for Music in 1968
Grammy Award for Best Contemporary Composition in 2001 for his work Star-Child
Annenberg Professor of the Humanities at the University of Pennsylvania
2004 Musical America “Composer of the Year”
1998 Cannes Classical Award: Best CD of a Living Composer
Six honorary degrees
Member, National Institute of Arts and Letters (1975)
Koussevitzky Recording Award (1971)
Rockefeller grant (1964)
National Institute of Arts and Letters grant (1967)
Guggenheim grants (1967, 1973)

Morris, Robert D.M.A. 1960
Tanglewood, as a Margret Lee Crofts Fellow
Professor of Composition at Eastman
National Endowment for the Arts grant
MacDowell Colony fellow


main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

Photography Credits:

U-M Photo Services

Joe Welsh

Peter Smith

David Smith

Glen Behring

Tom Bower