main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

main menu


Hall of Fame

The Hall of Fame Award (formerly Citation of Merit) was established to recognize and honor individuals who have made outstanding contributions to society, their profession, the U-M School of Music, Theatre & Dance, one of its departments or programs, or to the School of Music, Theatre & Dance Alumni Society. This award has been presented annually since 1977.


2017 Inductees

Gerald Cleaver (BM '92, music education and percussion)

Gerald Cleaver








Drummer Gerald Cleaver, born and raised in Detroit, is a product of the city’s rich music tradition. Inspired by his father, drummer John Cleaver, he began playing the drums at an early age. He gained early invaluable experience with Detroit jazz masters Ali Muhammad Jackson, Lamont Hamilton, Earl Van Riper, and Pancho Hagood. While attending the University of Michigan, he was awarded a Jazz Study Grant from the National Endowment for the Arts to study with drummer Victor Lewis. After graduation, he began teaching in Detroit where he worked with Rodney Whitaker, A. Spencer Barefield, Marcus Belgrave, Donald Walden, Wendell Harrison, and with visiting musicians Hank Jones, Tommy Flanagan, Barry Harris, Kenny Burrell, Frank Foster, Cecil Bridgewater, Ray Bryant, Eddie Harris, Dennis Rowland, Howard Johnson, Diana Krall, and Don Byron.

Mr. Cleaver is a leader or sideman on over 200 jazz recordings and performs nationally and internationally with jazz artists from all sides of the aesthetic, including Henry Threadgill, Roscoe Mitchell, Lotte Anker, Matt Shipp, William Parker, Craig Taborn, Kevin Mahogany, Charles Gayle, Mario Pavone, Ralph Alessi, Jacky Terrasson, Muhal Richard Abrams, Tim Berne, Jeremy Pelt, Ellery Eskelin, David Torn, Miroslav Vitous, Terje Rypdal, among others. Mr. Cleaver has previously held jazz faculty appointments at the University of Michigan and Michigan State University.



Marianne Ploger (MM '79, piano)

Marianne Ploger








Marianne Ploger is the creator of the Ploger Method®, a unique musicianship program developed over four decades of teaching, oriented towards real-time cognition and based on original observations concerning the perception of musical pitches, intervals and rhythms. One of the last students of pedagogue Nadia Boulanger, she fuses the best of classical French music training with contemporary neurological research. From 1986-2006 she was lecturer in advanced aural skills for the SMTD’s Department of Conducting, and is currently Associate Professor of Music Perception and Cognition and the director of the Musicianship Program at Vanderbilt University, Blair School of Music. She has been a guest lecturer and clinician for the Conductors Guild, Royal Danish Conservatory, Bremen Hochschule für Musik, Freiburg Hochschule für Musik, Berlin Hochschule für Kunst und Musik, Brüchner Conservatory, University of Göteborg, the Universities of Minnesota, Wisconsin, West Virginia, Bowling Green, Kennesaw State, Eastern Michigan, Oberlin Conservatory, Hamilton College, and The Conductors Retreat at Medomak. Also a composer, Ms. Ploger’s commissions include Sanctus for Brass Ensemble (Hamilton College, premiered by the Monarch Brass Ensemble); Passacaglia and Fugue for Wind Ensemble (University of Wisconsin Stevens Point); Toccata and Fugue in G minor for Organ (Duke University Divinity School).


Past Recipients


1961 Russian Tour Band
Roberta Alexander
William Anderson
Mildred Andrews
Ann Arbor ONCE Festival
Leslie R. Bassett
Judith Becker
Harriet Berg
Harry Begian
Elizabeth Weil Bergmann
Jerry Bilik
Josef Blatt
William Bolcom
Eugene Bossart

Dale Briggs
Allen P. Britton
Wayne S. Brown
Francis Bundra
George R. Cavender
Russell Lewis Christopher
Robert Cogan
Hugh Cooper
Robert J. Courte
David Crawford
Richard Crawford
George Crumb
Louise E. Cuyler
Christine Dakin
Orien Dalley
Hans Theodore David
Chip Davis

Cedric Carl Dent
William Doppmann
Edward J. Downing
Rosalie Edwards
David Eisler
Nicholas D. Falcone
Ross Lee Finney
James Forger
Bruce Galbraith
Armando Ghitalla
Elizabeth Green
Nelson Hauenstein
Harold Haugh
Ralph Herbert
Thomas Hilbish
G. Maurice Hinson
H. Wiley Hitchcock
Marguerite V. Hood
Howard T. Howard
Marian Owen Hunt
Lawrence Hurst
Roger E. Jacobi
Bob James
Sharon Jensen
Kenneth Jewell
Ernest Jones
Edith Staebler Kempf
Nancy Ambrose King
Maynard J. Klein
John Krell
Paul R. Lehman
Eva Likova
Clifford P. Lillya
Larry Livingston
Albert Luconi
William R. Malm
Marilyn Mason
John McCollum
Charlotte Whitman McGeoch
Glenn D. McGeoch
Robert Emmett McGrath
John D. Mohler
Earl V. Moore
Marvelene Moore
Barbara Nissman
Weston Noble
Jessye Norman
Jack O'Brien
Fred Ormand
Charles E. Owen
Willis Patterson
Cynthia Phelps
Bob Phillips
Ashley Putnam
Emil Raab
Larry Rachleff
Gail W. Rector
Willliam D. Revelli
H. Robert Reynolds
Mary Romig-deYoung
Gilbert Ross
Gustave Rosseels
Judith Dow Rumelhart
James D. Salmon
George Shirley
Donald Sinta
Glenn P. Smith
Carl St. Clair
Clarence E. Stephenson
Carolee Stewart
Louis Stout
William H. Stubbins
Laurence L. Teal
Mary Teal
Nelita True
Glenn E. Watkins
Floyd E. Werle

main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

Photography Credits:

U-M Photo Services

Joe Welsh

Peter Smith

David Smith

Glen Behring

Tom Bower