main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

main menu


Board of Governors

The SMTD Alumni Society Board of Governors is comprised of 15 volunteer members, elected on a rotating basis, for three-year terms. Board members may serve two consecutive terms. As representatives of all disciplines of the School of Music, Theatre & Dance, the Board provides support for programs and endeavors outlined by the School of Music, Theatre & Dance.

Programs and projects initiated by the Board of Governors:

  • Create mentoring opportunities for current SMTD students
  • Award alumni for professional work and dedication to the performing arts
  • Plan annual alumni reunion activities
  • Help advance the mission and goals of SMTD


Current Board Members

Julia Broxholm - Lawrence, KS

BM '77, MM '79, and DMA '01, voice

John Covach - Pittsford, NY

BM '83, music theory & guitar; MM  '85, music theory & guitar; PhD '90, music theory

Andre Dowell
- Ypsilanti, MI
BM '04 and MM '07, percussion

Danny Gurwin - North Hollywood, CA
BFA '94, musical theatre

David Jackson - Ann Arbor, MI
BM '91 and MM '92, trombone

Stephen Lancaster - South Bend, IN
DMA '08, voice

Janet Lilly- Greensboro, NC
MFA '92, dance

Katie Banks McBride - Ann Arbor, MI
BFA '03, theatre

Marvelene Moore - Knoxville, TN
PhD '77, music education

Donald Morelock - Ann Arbor, MI
MM '67, piano

Nicholas Phan - San Francisco, CA
BM '01, voice

Eugene Rogers - Ann Arbor, MI
MM '01 and DMA '08, conducting

Courtney Snyder - Ann Arbor, MI
DMA '09, conducting

D.J. Sparr - Lubbock, TX
MM '99, composition and guitar; DMA '03, composition

*Ann Marie Stanley - Baton Rouge, LA
PhD '09, music education

*Board Chair

main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

Photography Credits:

U-M Photo Services

Joe Welsh

Peter Smith

David Smith

Glen Behring

Tom Bower