Alumni receive Tony nominations

The 2017 Tony Award nominations were announced on May 2, and SMTD was well represented.

Dear Evan Hansen, with music and lyrics by musical theatre alumni Benj Pasek and Justin Paul (both class of 2006) garnered nine nominations, including Best Musical and Best Original Score. The other nominations are for Best Director of a Musical (Michael Greif); Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role in a Musical (Ben Platt); Best Performance in a Featured Role by an Actress in a Musical (Rachel Bay Jones); Best Book of a Musical (Steven Levenson); Best Lighting Design of a Musical (Japhy Weideman); and Best Orchestrations (Alex Lacamoire);

Musical theatre alumnus Gavin Creel (BFA ’98) was nominated for Best Performance by an Actor in a Featured Role in a Musical for Hello, Dolly!, starring Bette Midler in the title role. This is his third Best Actor nomination; he was previously nominated for his roles in Thoroughly Modern Millie (2002) and Hair (2009)

Another musical to receive multiple nominations, Come From Away, also has an SMTD connection: Ian Eisendrath (BMA ’03, conducting) is the show’s music conductor (and also plays keyborad, accordion, and harmonium in the band). The show received seven nominations, including Best Musical.

Being honored at this year’s ceremony is James Earl Jones (BA ’55, HLHD ’71, theatre), who will receive a Lifetime Achievement Award. Jones is a four-time Best Actor Tony Award-winner for his roles in The Great White Hope (1969), Fences (1987), On Golden Pond (2005), and The Best Man (2012).

The Tony Awards will be presented on Sunday, June 11 at 8 p.m. EST, and will air live on CBS.