main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

main menu

Briggs Chamber Competition Winners Announced


The winners of SMTD's 2016 Dale and Nancy Briggs Chamber Music Competition have been announced.

Taking first place was a saxophone quartet comprising graduate students Russell Kerns and Connor Mikula, senior Jonathan Hostottle, and specialist Jeffrey Leung. They received a $4,000 cash award.

The second place winner was a clarinet quintet comprising graduate students Joey Valez, Daniel Martinec, Stephen Chow, Jakob Lenhardt, and Mathieu Giradet. Their cash prize was $2,000.

The third place winner was a string quartet comprising graduate students Nicole Yue Fan and Jecoliah Wang playing violin, senior Abigail Choi on viola, and senior Isabel Kwon on cello. They received a cash prize of $1,000.

The competition judges included Jonathan Gunn, principal clarinet, Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra; David Bowlin, associate professor of violin, Oberlin Conservatory of Music; and James Howson, professor of instrumental accompanying, Oberlin Conservatory of Music.

Sadly, this year's competition took place just a week after the passing of Dale Briggs, whom the SMTD Alumni Society recently honored by awarding him the 2016 Hall of Fame award.

The Briggs Chamber Music Competition was created in an ongoing effort to encourage the excellence of chamber music performance at SMTD and to provide performance opportunities for various ensembles. It is named in honor of its benefactors and evolved from the Dale and Nancy Briggs Chamber Music Endowed Enrichment Fund, established in 2004 and endowed in 2006, to support program and/or scholarship needs in chamber music. The competition is open to ensembles comprising three to six players in any combination of instruments and/or voice.

past news

September 2017
March 2014

U-M UpstART Festival Begins 03/31/2014

Students Present "Wall-to-Wall Theatre Festival" 03/27/2014

First-Ever SMTD Chamber Music Competition Launches April 5 03/27/2014

Doctoral Fellow Named MTNA Distinguished Composer of the Year 03/26/2014

Theatre Student Lands Major TV Role 03/25/2014

Elizabeth Batiuk (ethnomusicology) has been chosen as a fellow at the Sweetland/Rackham Dissertation Writing Institute for spring 2014 and James McNally (ethnomusicology) received a summer and academic year FLAS for the study of Portuguese.    03/17/2014

Musicology graduate student Elizabeth McLain has been awarded a prestigious Lurcy Fellowship for research in France during the 2014-2015 academic year.   03/14/2014

December 2013

SMTD students Zoe Kumagai, Stephanie Aboukasm, and Adam DesJardins are among students profiled in an LSA article about the "Michigan in Washington" program, in which students intern at various Washington, DC organizations and businesses, including the National Symphony Orchestra, the Kennedy Center, and the Washington Performing Arts Society.    12/10/2013

October 2013
August 2013

Evan Zegiel, a sophomore who studies with Fritz Kaenzig, was the First Place winner in the Tuba Student division of the 2013 Leonard Falcone International Euphonium & Tuba Festival.     08/21/2013

July 2013

Professor Ashley Lucas and three Theatre & Drama students are engaged in an intensive exchange program with UniRio in Rio de Janiero, Brazil this summer, where they are blogging about their experiences in UniRio's prison arts program and more.   07/12/2013

November 2011
August 2011
June 2011
Pictured (left to right): Russell Kerns, Connor Mikula, Nancy Briggs, Jonathan Hostottle, and Jeffrey Leung. Photo by Peter Smith
Current Student News
DMA Piano Students Perform with Ann Arbor Symphony more
2018 SMTD Concerto Competition Winners Announcedmore

main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

Photography Credits:

U-M Photo Services

Joe Welsh

Peter Smith

David Smith

Glen Behring

Tom Bower