main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

main menu

SMTD Welcomes Two Presidential Scholars in Fall


In June, 20 high school seniors from across the United States will be honored in Washington, DC as U.S. Presidential Scholars in the Arts; two of them will begin their freshman year at the School of Music, Theatre & Dance this fall. They are Kevin "Joe" Broom (euphonium), of McLean, VA; and Charles "Chad" Lilley (saxophone) of Olney, MD.

The 2015 Presidential Scholars in the Arts were nominated to The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars by the National YoungArts Foundation (YoungArts) for their artistic achievement, and then selected based on academic achievement, personal characteristics, and leadership and service activities. The award, presented on behalf of the President of the United States, is one of the nation's highest honors for high school students.

The 20 Arts Scholars are among the 141 U.S. Presidential Scholars to be honored in 2015. All are invited to Washington, D.C. in June for several days of recognition activities. They will meet with government officials, educators, authors, musicians, scientists and other leaders; visit museums and monuments in our nation's capital; and attend recitals, receptions, and ceremonies held in their honor. In addition, the U.S. Presidential Scholars in the Arts have the opportunity to display their artwork in an exhibition and perform at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts. 

All of the Arts Scholars were also YoungArts Winners, comprising approximately 800 high school students, chosen from approximately 11,000 applicants. YoungArts was established in 1981 by Lin and Ted Arison to identify and support the next generation of artists in the visual, literary, design, and performing arts; assist them at critical junctures in their educational and professional development; and raise appreciation for the arts in American society.

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964, by executive order of the President, to recognize and honor some of our nation's most distinguished graduating high school seniors. In 1979, the program was extended to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative, and performing arts. 



past news

September 2017
March 2014

U-M UpstART Festival Begins 03/31/2014

Students Present "Wall-to-Wall Theatre Festival" 03/27/2014

First-Ever SMTD Chamber Music Competition Launches April 5 03/27/2014

Doctoral Fellow Named MTNA Distinguished Composer of the Year 03/26/2014

Theatre Student Lands Major TV Role 03/25/2014

Elizabeth Batiuk (ethnomusicology) has been chosen as a fellow at the Sweetland/Rackham Dissertation Writing Institute for spring 2014 and James McNally (ethnomusicology) received a summer and academic year FLAS for the study of Portuguese.    03/17/2014

Musicology graduate student Elizabeth McLain has been awarded a prestigious Lurcy Fellowship for research in France during the 2014-2015 academic year.   03/14/2014

December 2013

SMTD students Zoe Kumagai, Stephanie Aboukasm, and Adam DesJardins are among students profiled in an LSA article about the "Michigan in Washington" program, in which students intern at various Washington, DC organizations and businesses, including the National Symphony Orchestra, the Kennedy Center, and the Washington Performing Arts Society.    12/10/2013

October 2013
August 2013

Evan Zegiel, a sophomore who studies with Fritz Kaenzig, was the First Place winner in the Tuba Student division of the 2013 Leonard Falcone International Euphonium & Tuba Festival.     08/21/2013

July 2013

Professor Ashley Lucas and three Theatre & Drama students are engaged in an intensive exchange program with UniRio in Rio de Janiero, Brazil this summer, where they are blogging about their experiences in UniRio's prison arts program and more.   07/12/2013

November 2011
August 2011
June 2011
Current Student News
DMA Piano Students Perform with Ann Arbor Symphony more
2018 SMTD Concerto Competition Winners Announcedmore

main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

Photography Credits:

U-M Photo Services

Joe Welsh

Peter Smith

David Smith

Glen Behring

Tom Bower