main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

main menu

SMTD Concerto Competition Winners Announced


The 2015 School of Music, Theatre & Dance Concerto Competition winners have been announced, and all four are scholarship students. 

The winners in the undergraduate category are:

Hidemi Minagawa (BM '16, piano) performing Rachmaninoff's Piano Concerto no. 1. Minagawa holds the Edward Frohlich Piano Scholarship, the Alice Webber Glover Scholarship, and an undergraduate merit scholarship.

Micah Smiley (BM '15, trombone), performing the Concertino for Trombone, Two Pianos and Percussion by SMTD alumnus Frank Ticheli (MM '83, DMA '87). Smiley holds the Allen G. and Gloria Lynne Smith Scholarship and an undergraduate merit scholarship.

In the graduate student category, the winners are:

Ce Sun (MM'16, piano), performing Prokofiev's Piano Concerto no. 3. Sun holds the Morris and Beverly Baker Foundation Scholarship, the Edith Ella Davis Piano Scholarship, and a graduate merit scholarship.

Andreas Oeste (MM'16, oboe), performing Christopher Rouse's Oboe Concerto. Oeste holds a School of Music Scholarship and a graduate merit scholarship.

The competitions took place during the first week of January at Hill Auditorium. Each of the winners will perform their competition piece with one of the School's orchestras in an upcoming SMTD concert at Hill. Details will be available soon on the Calendar of Events. Congratulations to the winners!

past news

September 2017
March 2014

U-M UpstART Festival Begins 03/31/2014

Students Present "Wall-to-Wall Theatre Festival" 03/27/2014

First-Ever SMTD Chamber Music Competition Launches April 5 03/27/2014

Doctoral Fellow Named MTNA Distinguished Composer of the Year 03/26/2014

Theatre Student Lands Major TV Role 03/25/2014

Elizabeth Batiuk (ethnomusicology) has been chosen as a fellow at the Sweetland/Rackham Dissertation Writing Institute for spring 2014 and James McNally (ethnomusicology) received a summer and academic year FLAS for the study of Portuguese.    03/17/2014

Musicology graduate student Elizabeth McLain has been awarded a prestigious Lurcy Fellowship for research in France during the 2014-2015 academic year.   03/14/2014

December 2013

SMTD students Zoe Kumagai, Stephanie Aboukasm, and Adam DesJardins are among students profiled in an LSA article about the "Michigan in Washington" program, in which students intern at various Washington, DC organizations and businesses, including the National Symphony Orchestra, the Kennedy Center, and the Washington Performing Arts Society.    12/10/2013

October 2013
August 2013

Evan Zegiel, a sophomore who studies with Fritz Kaenzig, was the First Place winner in the Tuba Student division of the 2013 Leonard Falcone International Euphonium & Tuba Festival.     08/21/2013

July 2013

Professor Ashley Lucas and three Theatre & Drama students are engaged in an intensive exchange program with UniRio in Rio de Janiero, Brazil this summer, where they are blogging about their experiences in UniRio's prison arts program and more.   07/12/2013

November 2011
August 2011
June 2011
Hidemi Minagawa (photo by Peter Smith)
Current Student News
DMA Piano Students Perform with Ann Arbor Symphony more
2018 SMTD Concerto Competition Winners Announcedmore

main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

Photography Credits:

U-M Photo Services

Joe Welsh

Peter Smith

David Smith

Glen Behring

Tom Bower