main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

main menu

SMTD Students/Alums Win Gold & Bronze at the Fischoff Competition


Out of 48 competing ensembles from across the nation and around the world, the Akropolis Reed Quintet, comprising four recent SMTD alums and one 2014 graduate, captured the Gold Medal ($3,500.00) in the Senior Wind Division at the 2014 Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition. In addition to prize money, the ensemble will participate in a Winner's Tour of the Midwestern United States this fall. The Akropolis members are Tim Gocklin (BM,'12, oboe), Kari Dion (BM '11, MM '12, clarinet), Matt Landry (BM '10, saxophone), Andrew Koeppe (BM '10, bass clarinet), and Ryan Reynolds (BM '12, MM '14, bassoon).

In addition, the Evita String Quartet, all current SMTD students, won the Senior String Division Bronze Medal ($2,000) at the competition. Members include Hyorim Han (violin), Haerim Lee (violin) Yi-Chun Lin (viola), and Soojung Kim (cello).

The 2014 Fischoff Competition took place May 9-11 on the campus of the University of Notre Dame in Indiana. It is the largest chamber music competition in the nation and the world. Each year, an average of 125 ensembles, representing 22 nationalities, enter in either the wind or string categories of three to six performers. Fischoff is the only national chamber music competition with both senior divisions (ages 18-35) and a junior division (age 18 and younger). Since its founding, more than 6,600 musicians have participated, many of whom have gone on to distinguished careers in music performance and education.




past news

September 2017
March 2014

U-M UpstART Festival Begins 03/31/2014

Students Present "Wall-to-Wall Theatre Festival" 03/27/2014

First-Ever SMTD Chamber Music Competition Launches April 5 03/27/2014

Doctoral Fellow Named MTNA Distinguished Composer of the Year 03/26/2014

Theatre Student Lands Major TV Role 03/25/2014

Elizabeth Batiuk (ethnomusicology) has been chosen as a fellow at the Sweetland/Rackham Dissertation Writing Institute for spring 2014 and James McNally (ethnomusicology) received a summer and academic year FLAS for the study of Portuguese.    03/17/2014

Musicology graduate student Elizabeth McLain has been awarded a prestigious Lurcy Fellowship for research in France during the 2014-2015 academic year.   03/14/2014

December 2013

SMTD students Zoe Kumagai, Stephanie Aboukasm, and Adam DesJardins are among students profiled in an LSA article about the "Michigan in Washington" program, in which students intern at various Washington, DC organizations and businesses, including the National Symphony Orchestra, the Kennedy Center, and the Washington Performing Arts Society.    12/10/2013

October 2013
August 2013

Evan Zegiel, a sophomore who studies with Fritz Kaenzig, was the First Place winner in the Tuba Student division of the 2013 Leonard Falcone International Euphonium & Tuba Festival.     08/21/2013

July 2013

Professor Ashley Lucas and three Theatre & Drama students are engaged in an intensive exchange program with UniRio in Rio de Janiero, Brazil this summer, where they are blogging about their experiences in UniRio's prison arts program and more.   07/12/2013

November 2011
August 2011
June 2011
The Akropolis Reed Quintet: Andrew Koeppe, Tim Gocklin, Matt Landry, Kari Dion, Ryan Reynolds
Current Student News
DMA Piano Students Perform with Ann Arbor Symphony more
2018 SMTD Concerto Competition Winners Announcedmore

main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

Photography Credits:

U-M Photo Services

Joe Welsh

Peter Smith

David Smith

Glen Behring

Tom Bower