main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

main menu

Commencement Award Winners Announced


Congratulations to the 2014 senior class award winners, who will be honored and presented with their awards at the commencement ceremonies on May 2, 2014 at the Power Center:

 Francesca Chiejina (voice): The Albert A. Stanley Medal

The Albert A. Stanley Medal is the highest honor awarded by the School of Music, Theatre & Dance. It commemorates the long and distinguished service of Albert A. Stanley, director of the School of Music from 1888 to 1921. This award is presented annually to the graduating senior who, during the last two years, has been most outstanding in his or her curriculum, with special consideration given to scholarship and public performance.


Jeanette Fang (piano):  The Earl V. Moore Award in Music

Yuma Uesaka (saxophone, jazz studies): The Earl V. Moore Award in Music

Michael Hartung: The Earl V. Moore Award in Musical Theatre

Jacqueline Toboni: The Earl V. Moore Award in Theatre

Nola Smith: The Earl V. Moore Award in Dance

The Earl V. Moore Awards are given annually for outstanding achievement in the School of Music, Theatre, & Dance. The awards are named for Earl Vincent Moore, who came to the University of Michigan School of Music as a freshman in 1908, joined the faculty in 1912, and served first as director, then as dean of the School from 1923 to 1960.


Annick Odom and Christina Rowan: The Willis Patterson Diversity Award

The Willis Patterson Diversity Award is presented to a graduating student who has used his or her talents and scholarly abilities to enhance the development of, and appreciation for, a more culturally and ethnically diverse community in the School of Music, Theatre & Dance. The award is named for Willis Patterson, who served the School of Music for 31 years, as professor of voice and associate dean for academic affairs and faculty appointments. Christina Rowan, a violin and organizational studies major with a minor in performing arts management, and Annick Odom, a triple major in clarinet, bass, and psychology, founded SMTD's student-run Mentors for Ypsilanti Youth Orchestra.


Jesse Donner - George Shirley Award for Excellence in Opera Performance

This new award honors exceptional achievement in opera performance. It is named for Professor Emeritus George Shirley, who, in a career that spanned 49 years, performed more than 80 operatic roles in major opera houses around the globe and was the first African-American tenor to sing leading roles with the Metropolitan Opera, where he performed for 11 years. He taught at SMTD for 20 years, retiring in 2007.




past news

September 2017
March 2014

U-M UpstART Festival Begins 03/31/2014

Students Present "Wall-to-Wall Theatre Festival" 03/27/2014

First-Ever SMTD Chamber Music Competition Launches April 5 03/27/2014

Doctoral Fellow Named MTNA Distinguished Composer of the Year 03/26/2014

Theatre Student Lands Major TV Role 03/25/2014

Elizabeth Batiuk (ethnomusicology) has been chosen as a fellow at the Sweetland/Rackham Dissertation Writing Institute for spring 2014 and James McNally (ethnomusicology) received a summer and academic year FLAS for the study of Portuguese.    03/17/2014

Musicology graduate student Elizabeth McLain has been awarded a prestigious Lurcy Fellowship for research in France during the 2014-2015 academic year.   03/14/2014

December 2013

SMTD students Zoe Kumagai, Stephanie Aboukasm, and Adam DesJardins are among students profiled in an LSA article about the "Michigan in Washington" program, in which students intern at various Washington, DC organizations and businesses, including the National Symphony Orchestra, the Kennedy Center, and the Washington Performing Arts Society.    12/10/2013

October 2013
August 2013

Evan Zegiel, a sophomore who studies with Fritz Kaenzig, was the First Place winner in the Tuba Student division of the 2013 Leonard Falcone International Euphonium & Tuba Festival.     08/21/2013

July 2013

Professor Ashley Lucas and three Theatre & Drama students are engaged in an intensive exchange program with UniRio in Rio de Janiero, Brazil this summer, where they are blogging about their experiences in UniRio's prison arts program and more.   07/12/2013

November 2011
August 2011
June 2011
Current Student News
DMA Piano Students Perform with Ann Arbor Symphony more
2018 SMTD Concerto Competition Winners Announcedmore
Two musical theatre students perform with New York Philharmonicmore

main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

Photography Credits:

U-M Photo Services

Joe Welsh

Peter Smith

David Smith

Glen Behring

Tom Bower