main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

main menu

Sinta Quartet Wins Grand Prize at Coleman Music Competition


The Donald Sinta Quartet won the Grand Prize at the Coleman Chamber Ensemble Competition on April 27 in California. In the 67-year history of the competition, this is only the second time that a saxophone group has achieved the top honor. The Sinta Quartet members are Dan Graser (DMA '12), Zach Stern (MM '14), Joseph Girard (MM '12), and Danny Hawthorne-Foss (MM '14).

The Coleman Competition began in 1947 as the Coleman Auditions for young, non-professional performers. From a modest beginning, the annual competition (renamed in 1982) has become a highly respected national and international event with competitors coming from the major music schools across the country. Many Coleman Competition winners have gone on to become widely acclaimed artists, including Glenn Dicterow, Grant Gershon, Jeffrey Kahane, Anne-Marie McDermott, the Ahn Trio; eighth blackbird; and the Cavani, Colorado, Pacifica, Tokyo, and Vega Quartets, among many others.

The Donald Sinta Quartet was formed in 2010 and named for SMTD's legendary professor, Donald Sinta, the Arthur F. Thurnau and Earl V. Moore Professor of Saxophone, who coaches the ensemble. The quartet is already internationally acclaimed, having been invited to perform in Scotland, Greece, and France. In 2012 they won first place in the North American Saxophone Alliance Quartet Competition.


past news

September 2017
March 2014

U-M UpstART Festival Begins 03/31/2014

Students Present "Wall-to-Wall Theatre Festival" 03/27/2014

First-Ever SMTD Chamber Music Competition Launches April 5 03/27/2014

Doctoral Fellow Named MTNA Distinguished Composer of the Year 03/26/2014

Theatre Student Lands Major TV Role 03/25/2014

Elizabeth Batiuk (ethnomusicology) has been chosen as a fellow at the Sweetland/Rackham Dissertation Writing Institute for spring 2014 and James McNally (ethnomusicology) received a summer and academic year FLAS for the study of Portuguese.    03/17/2014

Musicology graduate student Elizabeth McLain has been awarded a prestigious Lurcy Fellowship for research in France during the 2014-2015 academic year.   03/14/2014

December 2013

SMTD students Zoe Kumagai, Stephanie Aboukasm, and Adam DesJardins are among students profiled in an LSA article about the "Michigan in Washington" program, in which students intern at various Washington, DC organizations and businesses, including the National Symphony Orchestra, the Kennedy Center, and the Washington Performing Arts Society.    12/10/2013

October 2013
August 2013

Evan Zegiel, a sophomore who studies with Fritz Kaenzig, was the First Place winner in the Tuba Student division of the 2013 Leonard Falcone International Euphonium & Tuba Festival.     08/21/2013

July 2013

Professor Ashley Lucas and three Theatre & Drama students are engaged in an intensive exchange program with UniRio in Rio de Janiero, Brazil this summer, where they are blogging about their experiences in UniRio's prison arts program and more.   07/12/2013

November 2011
August 2011
June 2011
Sinta Quartet (l. to r.): Zach Stern, Danny Hawthorne-Foss, Dan Graser, Joe Girard
Current Student News
DMA Piano Students Perform with Ann Arbor Symphony more
2018 SMTD Concerto Competition Winners Announcedmore

main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

Photography Credits:

U-M Photo Services

Joe Welsh

Peter Smith

David Smith

Glen Behring

Tom Bower