main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

main menu

Akropolis Quintet Takes Silver at Fischoff Competition


The Akropolis Quintet (Tim Gocklin, oboe; Kari Dion, clarinet; Andrew Koeppe, bass clarinet; Matt Landry, saxophone; Ryan Reynolds, bassoon) has been awarded second place and a silver medal in the Senior Winds Division at the 2012 Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition. Held on the campus of the University of Notre Dame in South Bend, Indiana, the competition featured 48 ensembles from across the country and around the world vying for medals in both string and wind categories in junior and senior divisions. It is the largest chamber music competition in the world, and provides one of the most prestigious classical music prizes attainable today.


The Fischoff medal is just the latest in a steady stream of honors that the Akropolis Quintet has collected. Earlier this spring the group was the runner-up in the annual Chamber Music Yellow Springs National Competition in Ohio. Last year, the quintet was the Grand Prize Winner at both the Plowman National Chamber Music Competition and the MTNA National Chamber Music Competition.


Also this spring, it was announced that the Akropolis Quintet will be the young-artist-in-residence with the Detroit Chamber Winds and Strings for the 2012-13 season. In addition, the group releases their first CD this summer.


The Akropolis Quintet was formed at the University of Michigan in January, 2009. The musicians met with the central goal of doing something different with classical music. They perform new classical works written expressly for their unique instrumentation, commissioning accomplished composers to create daring, complex, and accessible music. Akropolis is known for its energy, originality and contagious musical communication on stage.

past news

November 2012
June 2012
August 2011

main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

Photography Credits:

U-M Photo Services

Joe Welsh

Peter Smith

David Smith

Glen Behring

Tom Bower