main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

main menu

U-M Collegiate Chapter of MTNA Wins National Award


The Music Teacher’s National Association (MTNA) has named the collegiate chapter of the University of Michigan as the 2012 MTNA-Benjamin Whitten Collegiate Chapter of the Year.  This honor recognizes the University of Michigan Collegiate Chapter’s commitment to the music teaching profession and MTNA. 

“I'm extremely proud of the U-M Collegiate Chapter and all they have done to earn this award, including their work in outreach, encouraging scholarship, and a host of other achievements,” said John Ellis, the collegiate chapter faculty advisor and SMTD associate professor of music.

The U-M collegiate chapter, whose current president is Jovanni-Rey V. de Pedro, a doctoral candidate in piano pedagogy and performance, will be recognized at the MTNA  National Conference in New York City at the annual business meeting of the association in March.  During the presentation, MTNA  president Benjamin Caton will present the award along with a check in the amount of $500 in recognition of the chapter’s accomplishments. 

The U-M collegiate chapter’s activities cover five main areas: recruitment and exposure, community and teacher service, research and presentations, collaboration and networking, and fundraising. 

Among the chapter’s major initiatives this year was the creation of the first-ever Piano Pedagogy Symposium, presented in coordination with the Piano Pedagogy Laboratory Program, featuring two days of extensive lectures, panel discussions, roundtables and other events for future music professionals.  The symposium takes place January 21-22 on North Campus and welcomes MTNA members from across the country.

The Music Teachers National Association is currently the largest professional, non-profit music teachers organization in the world. More than 26,000 members—comprised of independent and collegiate music teachers—are committed to furthering the art of music through teaching, performance, composition and scholarly research.

past news

November 2012
June 2012
August 2011

main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

Photography Credits:

U-M Photo Services

Joe Welsh

Peter Smith

David Smith

Glen Behring

Tom Bower