main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

main menu

SMTD Welcomes Two Presidential Scholars in Fall


In June, 20 high school seniors from across the United States will be honored in Washington, DC as U.S. Presidential Scholars in the Arts; two of them will begin their freshman year at the School of Music, Theatre & Dance this fall. They are Kevin "Joe" Broom (euphonium), of McLean, VA; and Charles "Chad" Lilley (saxophone) of Olney, MD.

The 2015 Presidential Scholars in the Arts were nominated to The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars by the National YoungArts Foundation (YoungArts) for their artistic achievement, and then selected based on academic achievement, personal characteristics, and leadership and service activities. The award, presented on behalf of the President of the United States, is one of the nation's highest honors for high school students.

The 20 Arts Scholars are among the 141 U.S. Presidential Scholars to be honored in 2015. All are invited to Washington, D.C. in June for several days of recognition activities. They will meet with government officials, educators, authors, musicians, scientists and other leaders; visit museums and monuments in our nation's capital; and attend recitals, receptions, and ceremonies held in their honor. In addition, the U.S. Presidential Scholars in the Arts have the opportunity to display their artwork in an exhibition and perform at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts. 

All of the Arts Scholars were also YoungArts Winners, comprising approximately 800 high school students, chosen from approximately 11,000 applicants. YoungArts was established in 1981 by Lin and Ted Arison to identify and support the next generation of artists in the visual, literary, design, and performing arts; assist them at critical junctures in their educational and professional development; and raise appreciation for the arts in American society.

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964, by executive order of the President, to recognize and honor some of our nation's most distinguished graduating high school seniors. In 1979, the program was extended to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative, and performing arts. 



past news

November 2012
June 2012
August 2011

main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

Photography Credits:

U-M Photo Services

Joe Welsh

Peter Smith

David Smith

Glen Behring

Tom Bower