main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

main menu

Theatre & Drama Students Win Hopwood Writing Awards


Two students from the Department of Theatre & Drama were among the winners of U-M's 2013 Hopwood Awards, the prestigious writing prizes that are given out annually. Allison Brown (BFA '13, acting) received $3,500 for the Dennis McIntyre Prize for Distinction in Undergraduate Playwriting and Tyler Dean (BFA '14, acting) received $2,500 for the Arthur Miller Award of the University of Michigan Club of New York Scholarship Fund. The winners were announced during the 2013 Graduate and Undergraduate Hopwood Awards Ceremony at Rackham Auditorium.

The Hopwood Program administers the Avery Hopwood and Jule Hopwood Awards in writing, as well as three fellowship competitions, six poetry contests, and sixteen special prizes. The Hopwood Awards were endowed by Avery Hopwood, a popular American dramatist and member of the Michigan Class of 1905, and Jule Hopwood, his mother. They have been distributed every year since 1931. Past winners include Arthur Miller, John Ciardi, and Marge Piercy.

The full report of the 2013 Hopwood Award winners was published by the U-M News Service.



past news

November 2012
June 2012
August 2011

main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

Photography Credits:

U-M Photo Services

Joe Welsh

Peter Smith

David Smith

Glen Behring

Tom Bower