main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

main menu

2018 M-Prize Chamber Arts Competition Now Accepting Applications


The Department of Chamber Music at the University of Michigan School of Music, Theatre & Dance (SMTD) has announced the 2018 edition of the M-Prize Chamber Arts Competition, featuring a grand prize of $100,000, the largest cash award for any chamber arts competition in the world.

The 2018 M-Prize Competition will be held May 3-6, 2018 at SMTD and Hill Auditorium in Ann Arbor, MI. Applications are now being accepted, with a deadline of Monday, January 15, 2018. Complete information, including eligibility, repertoire, and application materials are available on the M-Prize website.

Supported by the U-M Office of the Provost and an anonymous donor, M-Prize also awards an additional $109,000 in prize money divided amongst the winning small ensembles in both junior and senior divisions in three categories: Strings, Winds, and Open (comprising any instrumentation or genre). 

The "open" category further distinguishes M-Prize as a chamber competition that embraces a wide definition of the field and shines light on its innovative possibilities. A stated goal of the competition is to "evolve the breadth and depth of the chamber arts landscape and associated professional opportunities for exceptional ensembles."

The M-Prize artistic director is Matt Albert, founding violinist/violist of the groundbreaking ensemble Eighth Blackbird and chair of SMTD's Department of Chamber Music.

The international jury for 2018 will include three SMTD faculty members: Andrew Jennings (strings), David Jackson (trombone) and David Daniels (voice). The celebrated roster of jury members also includes Joseph Kalichstein, Yeesun Kim, Chi-chi Nwanoku, and Masumi Per Rostad (strings); David Byrd-Marrow, Claude Delangle, Andrea Merenzon, and Christian Schmitt (winds); and Tony Arnold, Jacob Garchik, Jin Hi Kim, and Jason Treuting (open).

In addition to their cash prize, the M-Prize winners also receive performance and residency opportunities with prestigious presenters including the University Musical Society, National Sawdust, Philadelphia Chamber Music Society, Interlochen Presents, Krannert Center for the Performing Arts at Illinois, and Rockefeller University. In addition, the winning ensemble returns to SMTD for a residency to work with students.

The Grand Prize Gala Concert, on Sunday, May 6, in which the top ensembles in the three senior categories compete, will be live streamed by Detroit Public Television and made available to PBS stations nationally.

For more information, visit and join the conversation using #theMprize. 




past news

November 2012
June 2012
August 2011

main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

Photography Credits:

U-M Photo Services

Joe Welsh

Peter Smith

David Smith

Glen Behring

Tom Bower